ACBI Awards

Hofstetter Award

The Hofstetter Award is one of ACBI's most prestigious awards and honors; sighted individuals who have made an extraordinary contribution to Indiana's residents who are blind or visually impaired. The award is named after Dr. Henry W. Hofstetter (1914-2002), international lecturer, author, founding director of Indiana University's Optometry program, Past President of the American Optometry Association, member of the National Optometry Hall of Fame and past member of ACBI.

The Hofstetter Award is bestowed upon deserving individuals who have made an exceptional life time contribution to blind and visually impaired citizens of Indiana. Anyone may nominate someone for this award by contacting the ACBI President. The ACBI board of Directors reviews nominations and determines eligibility.

Past Hofstetter Award Recipients

  • Dr. Deborah McConnaha, 2018
  • David Nelson, 2012
  • Lou Moneymaker, 2011
  • Julia Studebaker, 2010
  • Edie Huffman, 2008
  • Durward Hutchinson, 2007
  • Richard Harris, 2005
  • Frank Kern, 2004
  • Stephen Campagnoli O.D., 2003
  • Mike Sowder, 2002
  • Frances Shine, 1999
  • C. William Trubey O.D., 1998
  • Rev. Maurice Brockman, 1995
  • Marie Jeffreys, 1993

Price Award

The Patricia "Pat" Price Award was established by ACBI in 1996, to be given to a blind or visually impaired individual who has done much to enhance the lives of Hoosiers who are blind or visually impaired. Pat, a founding member of ACBI, received the first award. It may be given each year if there is a deserving candidate.

Pat Price died in 2009 and will be greatly missed by her friends and colleagues.

Past Price Award Recipients

  • Deanna Austin, 2018
  • Cathy Nimmer, 2015
  • Barbara Salisbury, 2014
  • Pauline Ulrey, 2012
  • Dolly Sowder, 2011
  • John Huffman, 2010
  • Don Koors, 2008
  • Sue L'Esperance, 2007
  • Bashir Masoodi, 2002
  • Evelyn Meyers, 2001
  • Josephine Price, 2000
  • Patricia "Pat" Price, 1996