2018 Convention Business Meeting Items Get Unanimous Vote

By John Huffman


D. Officers and directors shall be elected by a majority vote cast at any regular convention. The president and vice-president of this organization must be blind/visually-impaired. A majority of all members of the board of directors referenced in Sections A. through
D. of this article must be blind/visually-impaired.

7. Fiscal Year. Each fiscal year of this organization shall begin on January 1 of the calendar year and end on December 31 of the same calendar year.


WHEREAS, federal and state law requires equal access to the ballot and voting experience, including the right to a private and independent verifiable mail ballot; and
WHEREAS, vote-by-mail technology is available and represents an economical way to make the voting experience available to persons with disabilities, many of whom experience difficulties in traveling from their residences to designated polling sites; and
WHEREAS, the State of Indiana has recently received $7.9 million of unexpected federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) monies, a small portion of which could be used to acquire such statewide Accessible Vote By Mail (AVBM) technology;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the American Council of the Blind of Indiana in convention Assembled this 3rd day of November 2018 at the Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center in Indianapolis, Indiana, that:

1. Its members call upon the leaders and members of both houses of the forthcoming General Assembly to recognize this protected right, and/or consider and pass legislation if needed to make vote by mail available to all qualified voters in Indiana on an equal basis.
2. Respectfully urges the Governor of the State of Indiana to sign any such legislation which meets the above goal; and
3. Strongly encourages responsible elements of State Government to certify one or more vote-by-mail systems which meet the goal of this resolution and strive to make such system(s) available to qualified voters in all 92 of Indiana’s counties in time for the 2020 election cycle.