Hank Hofstetter Opportunity Grant

Currently, each year the Fund has $1,000 available, in part or in whole, to aid any certified legally blind resident of Indiana. This grant would partially or fully fund such activity, materials, and/or equipment as may enhance the educational, entrepreneurial or vocational aims of a person who may be unable to obtain funding through other means. A secondary purpose of the Fund is to advise applicants of such other known means as may be available to meet their need.

Anyone interested in applying may do so by addressing: 

        The Hank Hofstetter Opportunity Grant Fund
        James R. Durst
        The Indiana School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
        7725 North College Avenue
        Indianapolis, IN 46240.

The following information should be included in the request:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Telephone Number
  • Date of Birth
  • What the need is
  • One page statement as to why the applicant should be considered for a grant
  • List of other options / sources of funding that have been tried
  • Letter of support (reference) from anyone other than personal friend or family member
  • One return,  self-addressed and stamped envelope.

Application should be submitted at least ninety (90) days prior to the need, in order to give the selection committee time to review and respond to the request.

The Hank Hofstetter Opportunity Grant Fund is a project of the American Council of the Blind of Indiana with the support of the Circle City Chapter, the North Central Chapter, and the South Central Chapter of ACBI. The American Council of the Blind of Indiana invites anyone or any organization to contribute to the Hank Hofstetter Opportunity Grant Fund. Since no administrative or fund-raising expense is taken from the Fund, whatever is contributed goes entirely to carefully selected recipients. Alternatively, a sustaining gift may be given to an already established endowment for the Opportunity Grant Fund from which the annual interest goes to increase the yearly amount available.

For additional information, write or call the Chairman of the Hank Hofstetter Opportunity Grant Fund:

        Donald Koors
        5885 North Central
        Indianapolis, IN 46220
        Tel: 317.251.2562

Hofstetter Award Recipients

The Hofstetter Award is one of ACBI’s most prestigious awards and honors sighted individuals who have made an extraordinary contribution to
Indiana’s residents who are blind or visually impaired.  The award is named after Dr. Henry W. Hofstetter (1914-2002), international lecturer, author, founding director of Indiana University's Optometry program, Past President of the American Optometry Association, member of the National Optometry Hall of Fame and past member of ACBI. 

The Hofstetter Award is bestowed upon deserving individuals who have made an exceptional life time contribution to blind and visually impaired citizens of Indiana. Anyone may nominate someone for this award by contacting an ACBI officer.  See the “Contact Us” page of this website. The ACBI Directors review nominations and determine eligibility.

Lou Moneymaker, 2011
Edie Huffman, 2008
Durward Hutchinson, 2007
Richard Harris, 2005
Frank Kern, 2004
Stephen Campagnoli, O.D., 2003
Mike Sowder, 2002
Frances Shine, 1999
C. William Trubey, O.D., 1998
Rev. Maurice Brockman, 1995
Marie Jeffreys, 1993

Updated 11/15/2011